HVAC Institute of Technology

HVAC PROGRAM

Through the Ivy Institute, students can choose to enroll in three pathways:

  • Accelerated (2 Semester TC Program) Avg 20 to 25 hrs/wk
  • Full-time (3 Semester TC Program) Avg 15 to 20 hrs/wk
  • Part-time (4-5 Semester TC Program) Avg 10 to 15 hrs/wk

*See Campus offerings below.

HVAC Institute

The Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) Institute will prepare you to work in commercial, industrial and residential environments. You will learn blueprint reading, AC and DC circuit structure, programmable thermostats, schematic and pictorial wiring diagrams, heat transfer systems, compressors and condensers, and basic refrigeration. This high-tech training will prepare you to earn seven nationally-recognized certifications through HVAC Excellence.

Certifications

Through the Ivy Institute, students will have the opportunity to earn the following certifications:

  • HVAC Excellence: 608
  • HVAC Excellence: Gas Heat
  • Carbon Monoxide
  • HVAC Excellence: Electrical
  • HVAC Excellence: AC
  • HVAC Excellence: Green Awareness
  • HVAC Excellence: Heat Pump

How to Apply

If you are interested in applying to Ivy Tech Community College and earning a Technical Certificate (TC) offered through the Ivy Institute of Technology, click here to complete an application.  Once you are admitted to Ivy Tech, you’ll receive an acceptance letter detailing your enrollment steps, which include:

   1. Orientation
   2. Assessment
   3. Advising

If you have questions about the Ivy Institute, please contact the Program Chair listed below.

Locations

Bloomington
HVAC in Bloomington is offered in both Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

William Fenton
wfenton@ivytech.edu
812-330-6017

or the Technology Advisor:

Amy Coy
acoy7@ivytech.edu
812-330-6397

Central Indiana (Indianapolis)
HVAC in Indianapolis is offered in both Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Dave Blais
dblais@ivytech.edu
317-921-4553

or the Technology Dean:

Michael DeBourbon
mdebourbon@ivytech.edu
317-921-4578

East Central (Muncie)
HVAC in Muncie is offered in both the Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Gary Grider
ggrider1@ivytech.edu
765-289-2291 ext. 1422

Kokomo (Kokomo)
HVAC in Kokomo is offered in both the Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Randy Gardner
rgardner@ivytech.edu
765-459-0561 ext. 554

Lafayette (Lafayette)
HVAC in Lafayette is offered in both the Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Mike Ulmer
mulmer2@ivytech.edu
765-269-5149

or the Dean of Technology:

Susan Ely
sely3@ivytech.edu
765-269-5159

North Central (South Bend)

HVAC in South Bend is offered both Full-Time and Part-Time. Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Monty Timm
mtimm@ivytech.edu
574-289-7001 ext. 5384

Northeast (Fort Wayne)
HVAC in Fort Wayne is offered in both Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Frank Garro
fgarro@ivytech.edu
260-482-2289

or the Technology Advisor:

Ron Busch
rbusch@ivytech.edu  
260-482-9171 ext. 2533

Northwest (Valparaiso)

HVAC in Valparaiso is offered Part-Time.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Ejike Iqboeqwu
cigboeqw@ivytech.edu
219-464-8514 ext. 3054

Richmond (Richmond)
HVAC in Richmond is offered in both Full-time and Part-Time formats.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Ramona Cook
rdmartin@ivytech.edu
765-966-2656 ext. 4017

Southern Indiana (Sellersburg)

HVAC in Sellersburg is offered in both Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Rex Brown
rbrown265@ivytech.edu
812-246-3301 ext. 4702

or

Roy Long
rlong@ivytech.edu
812-246-3301 ext. 4702

Southwest (Evansville)
HVAC in Evansville is offered in both Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Don Merle
dmerle@ivytech.edu
812-429-1470

or

Jonathon Myers
jmyers183@ivytech.edu
812-492-0533

Wabash Valley (Terre Haute)
HVAC in Terre Haute is offered in both the Full-time and Part-Time formats.  For more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Jeff Gossett
jgossett1@ivytech.edu
812-298-2474