General Education Transfer Core

GENERAL EDUCATION TRANSFER CORE

The Statewide Transfer General Education Core (STGEC) was developed by the public institutions of higher education in Indiana in response to Senate Enrolled Act 182 (2012). It enables a student who satisfactorily completes an approved program of general education in any one of those institutions to transfer that coursework to any other state educational institution as a block of 30 credit hours towards the general education core requirements.

Certificates:

General Education Transfer Core (30 credit hours = 2 semesters)

Ivy Tech Community College has developed a transfer general education core (TGEC) that meets competency requirements identified by all state public higher education institutions. By completing all requirements of the TGEC, Ivy Tech students' transcript will note that the transfer core has been completed. Students will then receive a block transfer of 30 credit hours toward the general education core requirements of any state institution.

Courses you will take      Print official copy

Online Options:

General Education Transfer Core (30 credit hours = 2 semesters)

Students also have the option to earn short-term Certificate via Ivy Tech Online, a completely online option. This virtual option provides students with the same content and knowledge as a traditional program, but is delivered entirely through our distance education delivery system.

Courses you will take       Print official copy

NOTE: The number of credits required for a degree or certificate is based on students who are program-ready and does not include College Prep courses. Availability of degrees and certificates varies by campus.

The General Education Transfer Core is offered at the following Ivy Tech campuses:

Bloomington

Contacts:

Martin Wolfger
Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences
mwolfger@ivytech.edu
(812) 330-6131

Keith Klein
Communications - Program Chair
(812) 330-6262
kklein@ivytech.edu

Annie Gray
English - Department Chair
(812) 330-6038
agray@ivytech.edu

Carol Simmons
English - Assistant Department Chair
(812) 330-6033
csimmons@ivytech.edu

Jennifer Daily-Mantha
Social Sciences and Languages – Department Chair
(812) 330-6301
jdailymantha@ivytech.edu

Dr. Gus Weltsek
Arts and Humanities – Department Chair
(812) 330-6227
gweltsek@ivytech.edu

Beth Pless
Life Skills/Student Success – Program Chair
(812) 330-6239
bpless@ivytech.edu

Dr. Steve Arnold
Life/Physical Science – Program Chair
(812) 330-6047
sarnold@ivytech.edu

Dr. Cecil Ellard
Mathematics – Department Chair
(812) 330-6032
cellard@ivytech.edu

Ben Markham
Mathematics – Assistant Department Chair
(812) 330-6070
bmarkham@ivytech.edu

Michael James
Social/Behavioral Sciences – Department Chair
(812) 330-6283
mjames@ivytech.edu

Central Indiana (Indianapolis)

Indianapolis Campus Contact: Franklin Campus Contact
Carol Schuck, Dean
cschuck@ivytech.edu
Jeffrey Lawrence
317-738-9489

Concentrations:

Communication
Mark Strother
mstrothe@ivytech.edu

English
Tiffani Butler
tbutler56@ivytech.edu

History
Jack Cooney
jcooney@ivytech.edu

Humanities
Jack Cooney
jcooney@ivytech.edu

General Studies
Sherry Moore
smoore170@ivytech.edu

Economics
Carmon Hicks
cwhicks@ivytech.edu

Political Science
Carmon Hicks
cwhicks@ivytech.edu

Psychology
Carmon Hicks
cwhicks@ivytech.edu

Sociology
Carmon Hicks
cwhicks@ivytech.edu

Science
Keith Vogelsang
kvogelsang@ivytech.edu

Mathematics
Les Meyer
lmeyer11@ivytech.edu

Columbus
  • Columbus Campus
    Jo Ann Hallawell, Department Chair, English, Communications & Humanities
    812-374-5260
  • Thomas Sobat, Department Chair, Mathematics & Science
    812-374-5228
  • Maribeth Anderson, Ass?t. Chair, Honors & Accelerated Programs
    812-374-5149
  • James Boldman, Ass?t. Chair, Communications & Foreign Language
    812-374-5331
  • Suzanne Gould, Ass?t. Chair, Life & Physical Sciences
    812-374-5350
  • Erin Lehman, Ass?t. Chair, English
    812-374-5335
  • Aaron Miller, Ass?t. Chair, Humanities
    812-374-5351
  • Shannan Norrell, Ass?t Chair, IVYT & ESOL
    812-374-5330
  • Michael Spencer, Ass?t. Chair, Mathematics
    812-374-5159
  • Richard Lamborn, Ass?t. Chair, Social & Behavioral Sciences
    812 374-5189
East Central (Anderson, Marion, Muncie)
Contacts:

Anderson

English, Communication, and Languages
Dr. James Wood
765-643-5745, ext. 1072
jwood54@ivytech.edu

Social Sciences and Humanities
Professor La Tishia Smith
765-643-5745, ext. 1047
lsmith202@ivytech.edu

Biological and Chemical Sciences
Professor Michele Moore
765-643-7133, ext. 2372
mmoore@ivytech.edu

Mathematics and Physical Sciences
Professor Duane Wolfe
765-643-5745, ext. 1007
dwolfe15@ivytech.edu

Marion

English, Communication, and Languages
Professor John Wieland
765-641-3111, ext. 3438
jwieland@ivytech.edu

Social Sciences and Humanities
Professor Monica Heller
765-641-3111 ext. 3427
mheller5@ivytech.edu

Biological and Chemical Sciences
Professor Mark Robbins
765-641-3111, ext. 3407
mrobbins@ivytech.edu

Mathematics and Physical Sciences
Professor Ian Blair
765-641-3111, ext. 3426
iblair@ivytech.edu

Muncie

English, Communication, and Languages
Professor Stephanie Webster
765-289-2291, ext. 1398
swebster17@ivytech.edu

Social Sciences and Humanities
Professor Elke Grogg
Social Sciences (ANTH, GEOG, HIST, POLS, PSYC, & SOCI)
765-289-2291, ext. 1371
egrogg@ivytech.edu

Professor Nancy McWilliams
Humanities (ARTH, ECON, HUMA, IVYT, & PHIL)
765-289-2291, ext. 1442
nmcwilliams@ivytech.edu

Biological and Chemical Sciences
Professor Lorraine Reese
765-289-2291, ext. 1396
lreese@ivytech.edu

Mathematics and Physical Sciences
Professor Michael Wedgeworth
765-289-2291, ext. 1409
mwedgewo@ivytech.edu

Kokomo (Kokomo, Logansport)

Contact
Kokomo

Megan Burriss, academic secretary
800-459-0561, ext. 458


Gwenn Eldridge, English and Math department chair
800-459-0561, ext. 403

Ken Ferries, social and behavioral sciences program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 380

Emily Getty, sciences program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 386

Thomas Ghering, student success, general studies
800-459-0561, ext. 377

David Gray, professional communication program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 389

Fran Hardin, dean of liberal arts and sciences and fine arts and design
800-459-0561, ext. 452

Gretchen Jordan, mathematics program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 378

Amy McCauley, English program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 383

Elizabeth Murray, humanities program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 385

Steve Whikehart, education program chair
765-459-0561, ext. 390

Logansport

Joshua Rockey, department chair
866-753-5102, ext. 2190

Lafayette  (Lafayette)

Contact
Malathi Balachander
Department Chair, Math and Sciences
(765) 269-5142

Sarah Elizabeth Guerrettaz
Department Chair, English, Communication, and Student Success
(765) 269-5909

Ken S. Mueller
Department Chair, Humanities, Social and Behavioral Sciences
(765) 269-5403

North Central (Elkhart, South Bend, Warsaw)
Concentrations:
English and Communication
Foreign Languages
Humanities
Life/Physical Science
Mathematics
Social/Behavioral Science

Liberal Arts and General Education Courses by Category

For more information contact Dr. James Powell at 574-289-7001, ext. 5377 or jpowell@ivytech.edu.

Northeast (Fort Wayne)
Contacts:

Dr. Kim Barnett-Johnson, Dean
kbarnett@ivytech.edu

Behavioral Science
Patricia Kemerer
260-480-2025
pkemerer@ivytech.edu

Communications
Rebecca Bishop
260-481-2209
rbishop25@ivytech.edu

English
Deanna Surfus
260-481-2286
dprice62@ivytech.edu

General Studies
Shannon Crowder-Gerber
260-480-2034
sgerber14@ivytech.edu

Humanities
Teresa Vazquez-Hall
260-480-4166
tvazquez@ivytech.edu

Life Sciences
Theresa Bissell
260-480-4184
tbissel@ivytech.edu

Math
Becky Moening
260-481-2228
bmoening@ivytech.edu

Physical Science
Provi Mayo260-480-2070
pmayo@ivytech.edu

Social Sciences
Lisa Beringer
260-481-2208
lberinger@ivytech.edu

Northwest (East Chicago, Gary, Michigan City, Valparaiso)

English and Communication Program Chair
   Jared Riddle
   East Chicago Campus
   (219)392-3600

Humanities and Foreign Language Program Chair
   Lanette Mullins
   Valparaiso Campus
   (219)464-8514

Mathematics Program Chair
   Liljana Stalevska
   Valparaiso Campus
   (219)464-8514

Science Program Chair
   Laura Rosillo
   Gary Campus
   (219)981-1111

Social Science Program Chair
   Deb Stipp
   Gary Campus
   (219)981-1111

Liberal Arts and Sciences Program Information

Richmond (Richmond)
Contact:

Charles D. Gidney, MA
School of Liberal Arts Program Chair/Associate Professor, Communications
Ivy Tech Community College - Richmond
2357 Chester Boulevard
Richmond, IN 47374-1298
Phone: 765-966-2656, ext. 1118  Toll free: 800-659-4562, ext. 1118
Fax: (765) 962-8741
Email: cgidney@ivytech.edu
www.ivytech.edu/richmond

Southeast (Lawrenceburg, Madison)
School of Liberal Arts & Sciences - Liberal Arts Program
MADISON

590 Ivy Tech Drive
Madison, IN 47250

Amanda Harsin
(812) 265-2580 Ext. 4113
(800) 403-2190 Ext. 4113
aharsin1@ivytech.edu

LAWRENCEBURG & BATESVILLE

50 Walnut Street
Lawrenceburg, IN 47025

Nicole Gonzalez
(812) 537-4010 Ext. 5265
(800) 715-1058 Ext. 5265
ngonzale@ivytech.edu

Southern Indiana (Sellersburg)
SCHOOL OF LIBERAL ARTS AND SCIENCES
Contacts

Robert York
Dean of School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Dean of Fine Arts and Design
812 246.3301, ext 4251

Southwest (Evansville)

Contacts:

Dr. Paul Odney

Dean, School of Liberal Arts & Sciences

812-429-1411

podney@ivytech.edu


LouAnne Kuntzman

ASA English and IVYT Student Success - Program Chair

812-429-1385

lkuntzma@ivytech.edu


Scott O’Daniel

Communications - Program Chair

812-429-1462

sodaniel@ivytech.edu


Carole Ann Chapman

English - Program Chair

812-429-9823

cchapman@ivytech.edu


Antonina Ries

Life & Physical Sciences - Program Chair

812-429-9872

aries@ivytech.edu


Jan Weiss

Mathematics - Program Chair

812-429-9819

jweiss@ivytech.edu


Dr. David Thomas

Social & Behavioral Science/Humanities - Program Chair

812-429-1455

jthomas324@ivytech.edu

Wabash Valley (Terre Haute)

Contact:

Allen Shotwell, Ph.D.
Program Chair, Liberal Arts & Sciences
8000 South Education Drive
Terre Haute, Indiana  47802
812-298-2203
rshotwel@ivytech.edu