Industrial Technology through the Ivy Institute

INDUSTRIAL TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM

Through the Ivy Institute, students can choose to enroll in three pathways:

  • Accelerated (2 Semester TC Program) Avg 20 to 25 hrs/wk
  • Full-time (3 Semester TC Program) Avg 15 to 20 hrs/wk 
  • Part-time  (4-5 Semester TC Program) Avg 10 to 15 hrs/wk 

*See campus offerings and pathways below

Industrial Electrical Institute

The Industrial Electrical Institute program is designed to prepare students for the modern manufacturing environment. The student will learn to build, install, troubleshoot and repair various manufacturing systems. This program will prepare you for employment with companies that have implemented team oriented design, production, quality, and maintenance systems within the manufacturing environment.

Certifications

  • Manufacturing Skill Standards Council (MSSC) Certified Production Technician certification
  • OSHA 10 hour General Industry certification

Industrial Mechanical Institute

The Industrial Mechanical Institute program is designed to prepare students for the modern manufacturing environment. The student will learn to build, install, troubleshoot and repair various manufacturing systems. This program will prepare you for employment with companies that have implemented team oriented design, production, quality, and maintenance systems within the manufacturing environment.  

Certifications

  • Manufacturing Skill Standards Council (MSSC) Certified Production Technician certification
  • OSHA 10 hour General Industry certification

Process Operations Institute

The Process Operations Institute program will help prepare technicians for employment in the diverse field of process operations in petroleum refineries, power generation facilities, pharmaceutical plants, chemical plants, waste water treatment plants, food and beverage process plants, and a host of other industries. Individuals currently employed as process operations technicians will enhance their ability to perform their duties and increase opportunities to advance. Ivy Tech Community College’s process operations technology program was developed in collaboration with area refining industries which resulted in a professional and focused plan of study. Completion of the program will provide a high probability of placement as a process operations technician within the process industry.

Certifications

  • Manufacturing Skill Standards Council (MSSC) Certified Production Technician certification
  • OSHA 10 hour General Industry certification

How to Apply

If you are interested in applying to Ivy Tech Community College and earning a Technical Certificate (TC) offered through the Ivy Institute of Technology, click here to complete an application.  Once you are admitted to Ivy Tech, you’ll receive an acceptance letter detailing your enrollment steps, which include:

   1. Orientation
   2. Assessment
   3. Advising

If you have questions about the Ivy Institute, please contact the Program Chair listed below.

Locations

The Ivy Institute Industrial Technology program is offered at the following campuses. If you have questions, click on your campus below for contact information.

Bloomington
Bloomington offers Industrial Electrical and Industrial Mechanical in both Full-time and Part-Time formats. Please contact the Program Chair for more information:

Mark Esch-Williams
mesch@ivytech.edu
812-330-6054

or the Technology Advisor:

Amy Coy
acoy7@ivytech.edu
812-330-6397

Central Indiana (Indianapolis)
The Indianapolis campus offers the Industrial Electrical and Industrial Mechanical Institutes in both Full-time and Part-Time formats. For more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Dave Blais
dblais@ivytech.edu
317-921-4553

or the Technology Advisor:

Lue Herchenroeder
lherchenroeder@ivytech.edu
317-968-1550

Columbus
The Columbus campus offers the Industrial Electrical and Industrial Mechanical Institutes in the Full-time format. For more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Chris Bolt
cbolt1@ivytech.edu
812-374-5177

or

Martha Hyer
mhyer@ivytech.edu
812-374-5351

Kokomo (Kokomo)
The Kokomo campus offers the Industrial Electrical, Industrial Mechanical Institutes in both the Full-Time and Part-Time formats, and the Process Operations Institute in the Part-Time format.  For more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Mike Erny
merny1@ivytech.edu
765-459-0531 ext. 701

Lafayette (Lafayette)
The Lafayette campus offers the Industrial Electrical and Industrial Mechanical Institutes in both Full-time and Part-Time formats. For more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Mike Ulmer
mulmer@ivytech.edu
765-269-5146

or the Dean of Technology:

Susan Ely
sely3@ivytech.edu
765-269-5159

Northeast (Fort Wayne)
The Fort Wayne campus offers Industrial Mechanical Institute in both Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  For  more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Bob Parker
rparker27@ivytech.edu
260-480-4248

or the Technology Advisor:

Ron Busch
rbusch@ivytech.edu
260-482-9171 ext. 2533

Northwest (East Chicago, Gary, Valparaiso)

The East Chicago, Gary and Valparaiso campuses offer the Industrial Mechanical and the Process Operations Institutes in the Part-Time format.  For more information, please contact one of the Program Chairs:

Thomas Box
tbox@ivytech.edu
219-980-7706

Byron Butterfield
bbutterfield1@ivytech.edu
219-392-3600 ext. 307

April Moehl
amoehl@ivytech.edu
219-392-3600

Richmond (Richmond)
The Richmond campus offers the Industrial Electrical Institute in both Full-time and Part-Time formats. For more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Jim Stokes
jstokes@ivytech.edu
765-966-2656 ext. 4017

Southeast Indiana (Lawrenceburg, Madison)
The Southeast Indiana region offers the Industrial Electrical and Industrial Mechanical Institutes in the Full-time format. For more information, please contact one of the Program Chairs:

George Tackett
gtackett@ivytech.edu
812-265-2580 ext. 4187

Dr. George Batta
gbatta@ivytech.edu
812-537-4010 ext. 7222

Southern Indiana (Sellersburg)
The Sellersburg campus offers the Industrial Electrical and Industrial Mechanical Institutes in both Full-time and Part-Time formats. For more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Roy Long
rlong@ivytech.edu
812-246-3301 ext. 4702

or the Technology Advisor:

Roberta Dooley
rdooley@ivytech.edu
812-246-3301 ext. 4243

Southwest (Evansville)
The Evansville campus offers Industrial Mechanical Institute in both Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  For  more information, please contact the Program Chair:

John Durbin
jdurbin@ivytech.edu
812-429-0595

or the Technology Advisor:

Jonathon Myers
jmyers183@ivytech.edu
812-429-1431

Wabash Valley (Terre Haute)
The Terre Haute campus offers the Industrial Electrical and Industrial Mechanical Institutes in both Full-time and Part-Time formats. For more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Jon Hineman
jhineman2@ivytech.edu
812-298-2381