History and the Future

Ivy Tech State College began in 1968 as Tippewa Technical Institute with 17 students studying health careers. The college leased or borrowed facilities to house their programs, including buildings at Home Hospital, St. Ann's Church, and the "Old Jeff" building in downtown Lafayette. Thanks to the generosity of Tippecanoe County, the college established a location on Lafayette's south side, and built a facility to house its technology programs in 1977. A land swap with the county in 1991 resulted in ownership of a 50-acre campus.

With the passage of state legislation in 2005, Ivy Tech Community College became Indiana's community college system. Ivy Tech offers accessible and affordable educational with a seamless transition from a two-year degree to a four-year degree.

Ivy Tech serves over 8000 students enrolled in programs in Applied Science and Engineering Technology, Business, Education, Health Sciences, Liberal Arts, Public and Social Services, and Technology. The Lafayette campus includes a joint college/county library, building trades training center, two academic buildings and an administration building. Ivy Tech also offers classes in the Renaissance Center in downtown Lafayette, Kaspar Hall in Frankfort, White County Instructional Center in Monticello, Montgomery County Instructional Center in Crawfordsville, and the Newton County Government Center in Morocco. The college employs over 500 full and part-time faculty and staff.

Ivy Tech's curriculum includes associate of arts, associate of science and associate of applied science degrees, and technical certificates. Many courses and entire degree programs transfer to four-year institutions, providing further opportunities for graduates. Ivy Tech also offers specialized training services for businesses and industry, and public continuing education classes for adults and children.

Ivy Tech will continue to grow in enrollment and educational opportunities. Projections of enrollment growth predict that Ivy Tech campus one day serve 12,000 students, the Lafayette campus will cover over 80 acres, and a degree-granting campus will be located in Montgomery County. Ivy Tech is poised to continue to fulfill its mission of enabling individuals to realize their full potential, and to support the economic development of Indiana.

Administrative Cabinet

The Administrative Cabinet is comprised of the chief administrator of each of the major functional units.  The function of the Cabinet is communication among all functional units, team building, discussion and resolution of issues that effect the entire operation of the region, and strategic planning to set the direction of the region.

For contact information, please use the Find People link found at the top of this page.

Cabinet Members

Dr. David A. Bathe Chancellor
Dr. Todd E. Roswarski Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Dr. John R. Laws Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
Andrew Antonio Executive Director of Diversity and Engagement
Patricia L. Corey Executive Director of Resource Development
Jane M. Harper Executive Director of Finance
Carmen Diaz Hurst Executive Director of Human Resources
Nikki R. Lebo Executive Director of Instructional Design and Technologies
Christopher A. Marks Executive Director of Facilities
Thomas L. McCool Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
William L. Jones Assistant Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management and Institutional Research
Dr. Victoria C. Wacek Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
David C. Berry Dean, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
William M. Coghill Dean, School of Education/School of Public and Social Services
Sandra D. Fights Dean, School of Nursing
Susan J. Ely Dean, School of Technology
Jolene K. Miller Dean, School of Health Sciences
Dr. Sheryl L. Shipley Dean, School of Business
Dr. Isaac Rivera Dean, School of Applied Science and Engineering Technology
Christopher T. Downard Director of Campus Security
David R. Bouck Director of Secondary Initiatives
Beverly A. Cooper Director of Financial Aid
Judith G. Doppelfeld Director, Ivy Tech Community College - White County
Heather R. Hart Director of Human Resources
Adam Hedden Director of Computer and Technology
Ivan L. Hernandez Director of Admissions
Geoff Knowles Director, Ivy Tech Community College - Crawfordsville
Andrew D. Muffett Director, Renaissance Instructional Center
Christine Burr Director of Development
Danyelle A. Paczkowski Director of Disability Services
Jennifer L. Musick Director, McAllister Academic Advising Center
Kathryn S. Stremiecki Director of Student Life, Development and Leadership
Susan A. Trees Director, Ivy Tech Community College - Frankfort
Cindy Mitchell Library Director
Christina Coon Registrar
Sandra K. Patchett Director of Cash Management-Finance
Margaret E. Patterson Director of Budget Management-Finance
Rozlyn D. Hernandez Director, Express Enrollment Center
Louis A. Perdue Director of Maintenance
Jessica Varkonyi Assistant Director, Community Outreach
Steve B. Manzini Assistant Director for Custodial Services
Elaine M. Doss Project Manager, Ivy Tech Corporate College
Shirley E. Siovaila Workforce Certification Manager
Regional Board of Trustees

Dr. Laura Downey
Concordance Health Solutions
Tippecanoe County

Dr. Scott Hanback
Tippecanoe School Corporation
Tippecanoe County

Mr. Jerry Hendress
Hendress Farms
White County

Mr. Douglas Mansfield
President, Manufacturing
Kirby Risk
Tippecanoe County

Mr. Jim Ogden
Union Journeyman Wireman and Business Manager and Financial Secretary
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local Union 668
Tippecanoe County

Mr. John Shoup
Indiana Agricultural Law Foundation
Clinton County

Ms. Kathy Vernon
Territory Manager
Bristol Myers - Squibb
Tippecanoe County