Three Ivy Tech Students Awarded for Exemplary Speeches

Three Ivy Tech Community College–Wabash Valley students took top honors and cash prizes at the Speech Competition on April 23 at Ivy Tech. Winners are:

First Place –
Levi Baysinger

Second Place -
Ashlyn Huttegger

Third Place -
Chris McCrocklin

The first place speaker was awarded $300, second place $200 and third place $100 in the competition sponsored by Ivy Tech and the Alpha Phi Eta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society focused on scholarship, leadership and service. The top three speakers also received a gift certificate courtesy of McGraw Hill Education and a medallion.

Participants qualified for the final round by placing highest in the semi-final round held in April. Each delivered an informative or persuasive speech of less than ten minutes on a subject of their choice.