General Studies

GENERAL STUDIES

The General Studies degree offers the student a solid core of General Education classes with the flexibility of additional elective courses of an individualized education plan. The General Education core of the degree provides broad exposure in composition, the humanities and sciences, mathematics, communication, and multicultural awareness. These courses are largely transferable to four year institutions as required coursework towards a bachelor's degree.

Students can construct their General Studies degree in conjunction with their individual career interests, educational goals, or other needs through the choice of elective courses to round out the degree. These elective courses are chosen by the student from many areas, such as business, technology, health care and other career-related areas offered by Ivy Tech. Students may also elect to continue with general education classes in preparation for transfer to bachelor's degree programs.

This degree provides a solid foundation for future education or career opportunities.

Degrees:

Associate of General Studies (60 credit hours = 4 semesters)

The Associate of General Studies degree transfers to many Indiana public and private colleges and universities.

To find out information about your transfer options to public and private universities, contact your academic advisor or the transfer office of your local Ivy Tech. You are also encouraged to contact the institution and consult the current catalog and web page of the institution to which you wish to transfer.

Courses you will take      Print official copy

Electives

Your advisor will help you select electives for your program. Statewide electives, Transfer General Education Core (TGEC) electives, and Transfer Cluster electives vary by degree.

This course schedule is based on full-time attendance for students who have demonstrated college readiness. Please review our course schedules for full-time with college prep courses, part-time and part-time with college prep courses.

Online Options:

Associate of General Studies (60 credit hours = 4 semesters)

The Associate of General Studies degree transfers to many Indiana public and private colleges and universities.

To find out information about your transfer options to public and private universities, contact your academic advisor or the transfer office of your local Ivy Tech. You are also encouraged to contact the institution and consult the current catalog and web page of the institution to which you wish to transfer.

Courses you will take      Print official copy

This course schedule is based on full-time attendance for students who have demonstrated college readiness. Please review our course schedules for full-time with college prep courses, part-time and part-time with college prep courses.

Transfer Options

To find out information about your transfer options to public and private universities, contact your academic advisor or the Transfer Office at your local Ivy Tech campus. You are also encouraged to contact the university in which you plan to transfer.

NOTE: The number of credits required for a degree or certificate is based on students who are program-ready and does not include College Prep courses. Availability of degrees and certificates varies by campus.

General Studies programs are offered at the following Ivy Tech campuses:

Bloomington

Contacts:

Martin Wolfger
Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences
mwolfger@ivytech.edu
(812) 330-6131

Keith Klein
Communications - Program Chair
(812) 330-6262
kklein@ivytech.edu

Annie Gray
English - Department Chair
(812) 330-6038
agray@ivytech.edu

Carol Simmons
English - Assistant Department Chair
(812) 330-6033
csimmons@ivytech.edu

Jennifer Daily-Mantha
Social Sciences and Languages – Department Chair
(812) 330-6301
jdailymantha@ivytech.edu

Dr. Gus Weltsek
Arts and Humanities – Department Chair
(812) 330-6227
gweltsek@ivytech.edu

Beth Pless
Life Skills/Student Success – Program Chair
(812) 330-6239
bpless@ivytech.edu

Dr. Steve Arnold
Life/Physical Science – Program Chair
(812) 330-6047
sarnold@ivytech.edu

Dr. Cecil Ellard
Mathematics – Department Chair
(812) 330-6032
cellard@ivytech.edu

Ben Markham
Mathematics – Assistant Department Chair
(812) 330-6070
bmarkham@ivytech.edu

Michael James
Social/Behavioral Sciences – Department Chair
(812) 330-6283
mjames@ivytech.edu

Central Indiana (Indianapolis, Noblesville)
Contact:
Sherry Moore
smoore170@ivytech.edu

Columbus
  • Columbus Campus
    Jo Ann Hallawell, Department Chair, English, Communications & Humanities
    812-374-5260
  • Thomas Sobat, Department Chair, Mathematics & Science
    812-374-5228
  • Maribeth Anderson, Ass’t. Chair, Honors & Accelerated Programs
    812-374-5149
  • James Boldman, Ass’t. Chair, Communications & Foreign Language
    812-374-5331
  • Suzanne Gould, Ass’t. Chair, Life & Physical Sciences
    812-374-5350
  • Erin Lehman, Ass’t. Chair, English
    812-374-5335
  • Aaron Miller, Ass’t. Chair, Humanities
    812-374-5351
  • Shannan Norrell, Ass’t Chair, IVYT & ESOL
    812-374-5330
  • Michael Spencer, Ass’t. Chair, Mathematics
    812-374-5159
  • Pamela Vincent, Ass’t. Chair, Social & Behavioral Sciences
    812-374-5230
East Central (Anderson, Marion, Muncie)
Contact:

Neil Anthony
(765) 289-2291 X 1342

Student Guide

Kokomo (Kokomo, Logansport)

Contact
Kokomo

Megan Burriss, academic secretary
800-459-0561, ext. 458


Gwenn Eldridge, English and Math department chair
800-459-0561, ext. 403

Ken Ferries, social and behavioral sciences program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 380

Emily Getty, sciences program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 386

Thomas Ghering, student success, general studies
800-459-0561, ext. 377

David Gray, professional communication program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 389

Fran Hardin, dean of liberal arts and sciences and fine arts and design
800-459-0561, ext. 452

Gretchen Jordan, mathematics program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 378

Amy McCauley, English program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 383

Elizabeth Murray, humanities program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 385

Steve Whikehart, education program chair
765-459-0561, ext. 390

Logansport

Joshua Rockey, department chair
866-753-5102, ext. 2190

Lafayette

Contact
Malathi Balachander
Department Chair, Math and Sciences
(765) 269-5142

Sarah Elizabeth Guerrettaz
Department Chair, English, Communication, and Student Success
(765) 269-5909

Ken S. Mueller
Department Chair, Humanities, Social and Behavioral Sciences
(765) 269-5403

North Central (Elkhart, South Bend, Warsaw)

For more information contact Dr. James Powell at 574-289-7001, ext. 5377 or jpowell@ivytech.edu.

Northeast (Fort Wayne)
Contact:
Shannon Crowder Gerber
(260) 480-2034
sgerber14@ivytech.edu

Dr. Kim Barnett-Johnson, Dean
kbarnett@ivytech.edu

Northwest (East Chicago, Gary, Michigan City, Valparaiso)
General Studies Program Chair

   Lanette Mullins
   Valparaiso Campus
   (219)464-8514 ext. 3088

General Studies Program Information

Richmond
Contact:

Melissa M. Kircher Smith
Director of Academic Affairs Support
Ivy Tech Community College - Richmond
2357 Chester Boulevard
Richmond, IN 47374-1298
Pnone: 765-966-2656, ext. 1126  Toll free: 800-659-4562, ext. 1126
Fax: 765-962-8741
Email: msmith@ivytech.edu
www.ivytech.edu/richmond


Southeast (Lawrenceburg, Madison)
School of Liberal Arts & Sciences - General Studies Program
MADISON

590 Ivy Tech Drive
Madison, IN 42750

LAWRENCEBURG & BATESVILLE

50 Walnut Street
Lawrenceburg, IN 47025

Math & Science
Ruth Greer
(812) 265-2580 Ext. 4104
(800) 403-2190 Ext. 4104
rgreer@ivytech.edu
Steve Kristoff
(812) 537-4010 Ext. 5249
(800) 715-1058 Ext. 5249
skristof@ivytech.edu
English & Communication
Beth McIlvain
(812) 265-2580 Ext. 4118
(800) 403-2190 Ext. 4118
bmcilvai@ivytech.edu
Cathy Carolus
(812) 537-4010 Ext. 5257
(800) 715-1058 Ext. 5257
ccarolus@ivytech.edu
Southern Indiana (Sellersburg)
SCHOOL OF LIBERAL ARTS AND SCIENCES
Contacts

Robert York
Dean of School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Dean of Fine Arts and Design
812 246.3301, ext 4251

Southwest (Evansville)

Contacts:

Dr. Paul Odney

Dean, School of Liberal Arts & Sciences

812-429-1411

podney@ivytech.edu


LouAnne Kuntzman

ASA English and IVYT Student Success - Program Chair

812-429-1385

lkuntzma@ivytech.edu


Scott O’Daniel

Communications - Program Chair

812-429-1462

sodaniel@ivytech.edu


Carole Ann Chapman

English - Program Chair

812-429-9823

cchapman@ivytech.edu


Antonina Ries

Life & Physical Sciences - Program Chair

812-429-9872

aries@ivytech.edu


Jan Weiss

Mathematics - Program Chair

812-429-9819

jweiss@ivytech.edu


Dr. David Thomas

Social & Behavioral Science/Humanities - Program Chair

812-429-1455

jthomas324@ivytech.edu

Wabash Valley (Terre Haute)
Regional Degree Offerings:
  • Associate of General Studies Degree

Contact:

Leslie Stultz, PhD.
Dean, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
812-298-2227
lstultz@ivytech.edu

The General Studies program is designed as a transfer opportunity to bachelor's degree-granting institutions. Earning the degree may provide graduates with additional advancement opportunities at their current positions and make them more competitive in the job market.