Home > Northeast > New Venture Competition

2015 New Venture Competition

New Venture Competition

Have you ever dreamed of starting your own business?
Do you have the entrepreneurial spirit it takes to turn your dream into reality?

Ivy Tech Community College Northeast's New Venture Competition is a business plan competition that offers students and alumni the chance to win at least $35,000 to launch a new business.

How it Works

  • Over the course of eight (8) weeks, students will create a business plan.
  • At the end of the semester, the three best business plans will be chosen by a committee of individuals to move on for final presentations.
  • Community mentors will help the remaining contestants refine their business plans.
  • The three finalists will present their business plans to a panel of college and community judges.
  • One champion will be chosen to win at least $35,000 to launch their dream business.
  • Be sure to review the complete New Venture Competition contest details.

Who is Eligible

The New Venture Competition is open to Ivy Tech Northeast students and alumni who are interested in starting their own business. If you have the passion, we can give you the tools to help you succeed.

Requirements for eligibility:
  1. Must have completed 15 credit hours at Ivy Tech Northeast prior to June 1.
  2. Former students within the last five years (who have achieved alumni status) are eligible.
  3. Enroll in a two-credit hour internship (BUSN280)

How to Enter

Sign up for BUSN280, section C2C "New Venture Competition Internship," via Campus Connect (CRN: 14654)

Who to Contact if You Have Questions

Jim Tolbert, School of Business Faculty at Jtolbert12@ivytech.edu or 260-480-4249

Presenting sponsor

JB Tool, Die & Engineering, Inc.

Made possible thanks to a grant from the
Edward M. and Mary McCrea Wilson Foundation

Awards dinner sponsor

ProFed Credit Union

In collaboration with
Fort Wayne SCORE

Jim Tolbert, Dave Bear, Mary Bear, Beth Scholer, and

(l-r): Jim Tolbert, Dave Bear, Mary Bear, Beth Scholer, and
Chancellor Jerrilee K. Mosier during the 2014 check presentation.

Read entire story. See more photos.


For more information:

Jim Tolbert

2014 Winner

Beth Scholer

2014 Champion
Beth Scholer video

Robert Bibbo

2013 Champion
Robert Bibbo video

Jon-Paul Capito

2012 Champion
Jon-Paul Capito video

See more photos on Flickr.

Olivia Fabian

2011 Champion
Olivia Fabian video