Welding Institute of Technology

WELDING PROGRAM

Through the Ivy Institute, students can choose to enroll in three pathways:

  • Accelerated (2 Semester TC Program) Avg 20 to 25 hrs/wk
  • Full-time (3 Semester TC Program) Avg 15 to 20 hrs/wk
  • Part-time  (4-5 Semester TC Program) Avg 10 to 15 hrs/wk 

*See Campus offerings and pathways below

Welding Institute

The Welding Institute was developed with the American Welding Society (AWS) utilizing the School Excelling through National Skill Standards Education (SENSE) Curriculum and will prepare students to become a successful professional welder. Welding Institute students will learn welding process and equipment, welding metallurgy, welding codes, blueprint reading, and the care and maintenance of equipment. Students will be trained in Gas Metal Arc (MIG), Gas Tungsten Arc (TIG), Shielded Metal Arc Welding (SMAW), Pipe and Tube welding, and earn several certifications from the AWS and the American Society for Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

Certifications

Through the Ivy Institute, students will have the opportunity to earn the following certifications:

  • AWS Shielded Metal Arc Structural Weld Test
  • AWS MIG Weld Test
  • AWS Sheet Metal Code Stainless Steel and Aluminum Steel

How to Apply

If you are interested in applying to Ivy Tech Community College and earning a Technical Certificate (TC) offered through the Ivy Institute of Technology, click here to complete an application.  Once you are admitted to Ivy Tech, you’ll receive an acceptance letter detailing your enrollment steps, which include:

   1. Orientation
   2. Assessment
   3. Advising

If you have questions about the Ivy Institute, please contact the Program Chair listed below.

When completing your application, choose Industrial Technology as your program.  Welding is offered as a concentration under Industrial Technology.

Locations

The Ivy Institute Welding program is offered at the following campuses. If you have questions, click on your campus below for contact information.

Central Indiana (Indianapolis)
The Indianapolis campus offers Welding in both Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  For more information please contact the Program Chair:

Dave Blais
dblais@ivytech.edu
317-921-4553

or the Technology Dean:

Michael DeBourbon
mdebourbon@ivytech.edu
317-921-4578

Columbus (Scottsburg)
The Columbus region offers Welding in the Full-Time and Accelerated formats at the Scottsburg Mid-America Science Park.  For more information, please contact the Program Chair:

Chris Bolt
cbolt1@ivytech.edu
812-374-5177

or

Martha Hyer
mhyer@ivytech.edu
812-374-5351

East Central (Anderson, Muncie)
The Anderson and Muncie campuses offer Welding in the Full-Time, Part-Time and Accelerated formats.  For more information, please contact the Welding Faculty:

Robert Richwine
rrichwine2@ivytech.edu
765-378-5378

or

Frank G. Blanchard
fblanchard@ivytech.edu
765-289-2291 ext. 1503

Kokomo (Kokomo, Logansport)
The Kokomo and Logansport campuses offer Welding in the Full-Time, Part-Time and Accelerated formats.  For more information please contact the Program Chair:

Mike Erny
merny1@ivytech.edu
765-459-0561 ext. 701

Lafayette (Lafayette)
The Lafayette campus offers Welding in both the Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  For more information please contact the Program Chair:

Mike Umer
mulmer2@ivytech.edu
765-269-5149

or the Dean of Technology

Susan Ely
sely3@ivytech.edu
765-269-5159

North Central (South Bend, Warsaw)
The South Bend and Warsaw campuses offer Welding in the Full-Time, Part-Time and Accelerated formats.  For more information please contact the Program Chair:

Ben Lagadon
plagadon@ivytech.edu
574-289-7001 ext. 5381

Northeast (Fort Wayne)
The Fort Wayne campus offers Welding in both the Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  For more information please contact the Program Chair:

Bob Parker
rparker27@ivytech.edu
260-480-4248

or the Technology Advisor:

Ron Busch
rbush@ivytech.edu
260-482-9171 ext. 2533

Northwest (East Chicago, Gary, Valparaiso)
Campuses in the Northwest region offer Welding in Full-Time, Part-Time and Accelerated formats.  For more information please contact the East Chicago Program Chair:

Parnell Jordand
pjordan@ivytech.edu
219-392-3600 ext. 222

or the Valparaiso Program Chair:

James McKiddy
jmckiddy@ivytech.edu
219-464-8514 ext. 3053

Richmond (Richmond)
For more information please contact the Program Chair:

Jim Stokes
jstokes@ivytech.edu
765-966-2656 ext. 4017

Southeast Indiana (Madison)
The Madison campus offers Welding in both the Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  For more information please contact the Program Chairs:

George Tackett
gtackett@ivytech.edu
812-265-2580 ext. 4187

or

Dr. George Batta
gbatta@ivytech.edu
812-537-4010 ext. 7222

Southwest (Evansville)
The Evansville campus offers Welding in both Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  For more information please contact the Program Chair:

John Durbin
jdurbin@ivytech.edu
812-429-0595

or the Technology Advisor:

Jonathon Myers
jmyers183@ivytech.edu
812-492-0533

Wabash Valley (Terre Haute)
The Terre Haute campus offers Welding in the Full-Time and Part-Time formats.  For more information, please contact the Instructor or Program Chair

Darrin Dayhoff
ddayhoff1@ivytech.edu
812-298-2374

or

Jon Hineman
jhineman2@ivytech.edu
812-298-2381